The things you can do and learn online for General Paper (and Project Work).

Russians

In Europe and America,
There’s a growing feeling of hysteria
Conditioned to respond to all the threats
In the rhetorical speeches of the Soviets
Mr. Krushchev said we will bury you
I don’t subscribe to this point of view
It would be such an ignorant thing to do
If the Russians love their children too

How can I save my little boy
From Oppenheimer’s deadly toy
There is no monopoly of common sense
On either side of the political fence
We share the same biology
Regardless of ideology
Believe me when I say to you
I hope the Russians love their children too

There is no historical precedent
To put words in the mouth of the president
There’s no such thing as a winnable war
It’s a lie we don’t believe anymore
Mr. Reagan says we will protect you
I don’t subscribe to this point of view
Believe me when I say to you
I hope the Russians love their children too

We share the same biology
Regardless of ideology
What might save us me and you
Is if the Russians love their children too

by Sting (1985)

You can read an explanation and comments at Songfacts and comments at YouTube.

Songfacts also has a list of 70 songs (to date) with political statements. You might find a favourite song or two there whose lyrics you might not have recognised as making some social commentary.

Comments on: "Russians" (5)

  1. This is one of my all time favourite songs.

  2. You know, maybe it would be interesting to map the songs (of popular genres) to the popular social themes of the day, for that time period, and see if there’s any correlation.

  3. Chwee Bock said:

    I have not thought of using this song for ‘light’ discussion in class but I did toy with the idea of An Englishman In New York though. I like the city, and find the use of the word ‘alien’ in the song interesting, since the US immigration has stopped using at their checkpoints. Somehow STING always reminds me of the great MTV days in the 80s. OK… I am stuck in the 80s. And I am proud of it. 😮 Money For Nothing and …

  4. Alicia Tan said:

    Hi there, I stumbled onto your site just 2 days before the GP exam and I’d like to say a big thank you for the effort you’ve put into maintaining this site!

  5. That song is really cool. =)

Leave a Reply

