The things you can do and learn online for General Paper (and Project Work).

I mean, other than being a shopaholic. (I also bought Best Cello Collection, a Chinese parallel import at 8 bucks (non-pirated double CD!) today.)

Books first:

  • It’s hard to read off a laptop in the loo
  • Books have more depth (than the typical Internet page)
  • Books are more reliable (than a Wiki or the typical Internet page)
  • People are more impressed/you feel more accomplished, when you actually finish reading a book
  • You can’t find novels easily on the Internet (somebody prove me wrong please; actually I don’t usually read novels)
  • I don’t own a practical eBook device (see first bullet point)

Music:

  • It takes too long to download some songs
  • You can’t find some songs online as easily
  • It’s actually illegal to download most music
  • Even though I rip the CD to my harddrive, I like the album structure because it’s more coherent, even if it’s a compilation CD; I don’t have to click on individual songs to make a playlist

 

Comments on: "Why I buy books and music" (1)

  1. If you read only english novels, there are websites that distribute free books, including novels. Try http://www.google.com/search?q=download+free+fiction+book
    http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/
    http://www.e-book.com.au/freebooks.htm
    If you follow authors or read other languages, tough luck.

    Books:

    – In-depth material on many topics are not available online. For exactly the opposite reason, I’ve stopped buying computer-related books.

    – I like buying reference books as good niche content is still limited in availability online. Eg, English-Chinese dictionary of technical terms, for which even a physical copy is hard to obtain.

    – 404 File not found

    – Knowledge is segmented into different language-domains on the web, but books that sell well get translated.

    – Print is at 300dpi, and the web works at 72. I love expensive magazines.

    – Well made books are a keepsake.

    – I don’t like to think about doing backups for my purchases.

    – There’s something pleasingly quaint about books and bookmarks

    – Flipping thick books make me feel clever

    – Books draw me to the shelves and re-read them, or make me actually read them if I haven’t, but data gets deleted or stored away.

    blah.

    Music:

    – Artists put their energies into making albums, and i think albums should be appreciate not just at number-level, but at album-level as well.

    – I like CD-covers and lyrics and photos printed in the booklets. They give music a visual analogy.

    – I want to pay the artist for what I get, although the music industry sucks up most of what I pay and call it “marketing cost”.

    – Physical CD’s give a physical form to the music to which I can feel an emotional attachment. It adds depth to the listening experience.

    – Friends can find an album you listen to interesting by looking at the cover even when the name doesn’t say much.

    – I don’t like to think about doing backups for my purchases (ie, burning CD’s….)

Leave a Reply

